The three-stage coda of airline grief

Kate got stuck in Chicago last night due to weather, and was put through the five stages of airline annoyance:

  1. Denial: “Your flight is on time. We’ll be boarding in five minutes… despite the fact that the plane is, uh… still in Schenectady.”
  2. Anger: WTF? Stupid airline! #@#$@#$#@!!!!!

Okay, I guess I can stop right there at two stages, unless “waiting three hours for a shuttle to take you to a hotel at an undisclosed location, where you get to wait forty minutes to check in” is a stage. Actually, I guess it is. Let me take another stab at it:

  1. Denial
  2. Anger
  3. Waiting in line for {rebooking agent, shuttle bus, hotel check-in}
  4. Repeat steps 2-3 indefinitely

Poor Kate! Anyhow, Lydia and I are still having a nice time, though we’re looking forward to go picking her up.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: